Dolphins, Lemurs and Kiwis…Oh My!!!

It’s 4 days until I go.  Of course I haven’t packed.  There is a bit of a pile.  With some of the things I think I’ll need.  The tent is KEY, since this next adventure involves camping deep in a jungle on the far away island of Madagascar 🙂  Wait…WHAT?!  You may be thinking.  Why is she going there?  Isn’t Madagascar politically unstable (yes…there was a coup there in January 2008…not quite sorted yet) ? Aren’t the jungles there full of insects, snakes and a LOT of rain (yes…but you forgot leeches…millions of blood sucking leeches) ? Hmmmmm…what else might you be thinking.  I don’t know…let me know.  I’ll try and answer and maybe you’ll remind me of something important I’ve forgotten….Oh ya…WHY? That may be what you are wondering.  If you don’t know me, or you are one of the people who has only known me to be quite girly, slightly neurotic and someone who enjoys bikini shopping, you may be a bit surprised.  There are a few reasons…

#1  I’m in my first year of a PhD and I am studying infant development in wild lemurs.  Lemurs are only found on the island of Madagascar.

#2  I am completely and totally obsessed with adventure.  If it’s easy and trendy, I’m not really interested.  If it’s new and crazy (say, for example, it requires flying for over 20 hours, driving for a few more, hiking for 2 hours into the jungle, setting up a 14-year old tent and living in the heart of this jungle with 3 total strangers…a local cook, guide and armed guard)…then I start thinking….Hmmm, I wonder how many protein bars I could pack in?  Food is a slightly major concern of mine…to be discussed later.

#3 Finally…but most important…I have a constant and insatiable desire to see the most strange and beautiful animals in THEIR wild.

For those of you who do know me…you know that I am a Marine Biologist and that I have spent years studying wild dolphins in New Zealand.  That is actually where my current research questions evolved…and kiwis…well, I will have to tell you about that too.  I’m embarking on an adventure of wild, epic and completely mad proportions and I’d like your company.  Do you want to come?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dolphins, Lemurs and Kiwis…Oh My!!!

  1. thepatweir says:

    So proud of you Jody! Have a great trip… do not forget to bring a coffee making device.. Jody + Jungle + No coffee = . . .

  2. Shauna Carmichael says:

    You know I want to come! I have always loved lemurs, can’t wait to hear stories about them in the wild…

  3. Ian McLeod says:

    What a great idea. I look forward to following your adventure.

  4. Lara McNamee says:

    Have an amzing time Jody and be sure to take tons of pics!!!!!

  5. The Kiwi says:

    Where and why are you holding the rock?

  6. Raechel says:

    Loving the fearless rock wielding Jodster photo. Those Thai dogs never stood a chance!

  7. Pingback: Jody Weir’s Lemur Research Blog | UVicAnthro

Leave a Reply

