June 11th…Aborted night survey.

Aborted night survey.  There was a lot of mud and millions of suckers.  In Malagasy, leeches are called ‘dimatica’.  I may have spoken too soon about them.  Today they made me a little crazy.  I guess the rain brings them out….but looking down and seeing an army of little suckers marching up my boots, pants, arms just about made me lose my mind.  Well I did lose it a bit.  And then I had a bit of a frustrated girly cry.  Then I had a douche and felt a bit better.  Waiting for dinner.  I think it’s not ready because we were supposed to be on night survey until later.  The guard went on errands and came back with cigarettes and an old school radio.  The radio is blaring.  I’m pretty sure it’s Mexico vs. S. Africa world cup.  I think it’s zero zero.  It’s weird being in the jungle with a Malagasy sports announcer blaring over the frogs.  But at this point, I don’t care.  I just need to be blood sucker free.  Being crew leader is always the same.  You never really have as much fun as everybody else.  They have to bond, and as a leader, you will never really be part of that.  Here, there is also the language blockage.  So they can talk and talk and talk.  And I can’t.  Now there is some highly distorted K’naan blaring from the radio.  And it’s raining again.  I don’t care.  I just want to sleep and sleep and sleep.  I think we are having french fries and rice for dinner.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

